The Light Fantastic, by Terry Pratchett

So, what do you do when you’re a failed Wizard with a tourist and a sentient suitcase dragging you across a magical world where the best you can hope for is that you can ignore the trees when they talk to you?

Well, if you’re Rincewind you run away when you can, grumble a lot when you can’t.
This is going to sound a bit weird, but I relate to Rincewind quite a bit. I work and a receptionist and the number of times I feel like I’m talking to crazy people who either have more power or money than I have is innumerable, and the number of times I have had to do truly dumb things because of these people, multiplies daily. Sometimes the best you can do is sigh, nod along and hope you don’t anger a hoard or say the wrong thing and fuck up a whole plan.
In this book we rejoin the adventure of Rincewind, failed Wizard and Twoflower, successful tourist.
Things have gotten a bit weird on the disc, the turtle who carries the elephants who carry the disc of the world through the universe is moving closer and closer to a red star and everyone is freaking out. And the reigning opinion among wizards is that Rincewind is the answer.
I’m leaving a bunch of stuff out because honestly I cannot do this plot justice. It has epic power struggles, contemplation of life and death, and an 87 year old hero with a burning hatred of soup.
The word play and humor are just as awesome as the first book . I think my favorte parts were when Rincewind wind was telling off the spells from the Octovo.
Looking forward to reading more in this series.

Leave a Comment